Navigating College Campuses by Wheelchair

BrookeUBrookeU Posts: 149Moderator Moderator
100 Comments 25 Likes 5 Awesomes Photogenic
What are your experiences with living in a dorm or navigating through campus when using a wheelchair? My brother had a pretty terrible experience with accessibility at his college, so I'd love to know what you wish all colleges would understand about accommodating the needs of people with limited mobility! Excellent examples of accessibility on campuses are also welcome.

Comments

• Mnichols23Mnichols23 Posts: 35Moderator Moderator
    10 Comments 5 Awesomes First Answer Name Dropper
     I am currently a college student. Getting around a college campus isn’t the easiest thing especially for a power wheelchair user like myself. But I’ve been able to find different ways to get the classes that are easier for me even though I may have to get to campus a bit earlier.  I can’t get into some of the old buildings though on campus 
  • BrookeUBrookeU Posts: 149Moderator Moderator
    @Mnichols23, have campus disability services/disability resource center been helpful? I'm curious to know your experiences with them. I'm sorry about the lack of access into older buildings. I hope you have still been able to feel totally immersed in your campus despite that.
  • abigalenicoleabigalenicole Posts: 2Member
    First Comment
    My Fiance is currently on a college campus, and he gets around fairly easily. There are a few large hills, but he calls them his cardio since he is in a manual chair haha. We were lucky enough that our university just built a brand new College of Business building, so he does not have to deal with many classes in older building on campus that are less accessible. I know that for him, professors have always been very understanding if he cannot make it to class due to weather, and there is campus services that could be a resource to him if he needed it. He has used them to help with sporting event seating before.