Navigating grade school with paralysis

BrookeUBrookeU Posts: 176Moderator Moderator
100 Comments 25 Awesomes 25 Likes Photogenic
If you attended grade school while living with paralysis or are the parent of a child who did, what were your experiences like? My brother's experience featured lots of uphill battles, so I'm curious to know how yours was.

Comments

• ZcollieZcollie Posts: 209Moderator Moderator
    100 Comments 25 Awesomes 25 Likes Name Dropper
    Hi @BrookeU I have been paralyzed for eight years and graduated with my Bachelors of Science in May of 2018. It took me 5 years to get my degree. I am a C-4 quad with no finger and wrist function. I am currently in my first year of graduate school. My school has been very accommodating of my needs. I get a notetaker in each of my classes, When I take a quiz or test I have a scribe with me to help fill in the answers, and get double the time. All of my teachers have been very understanding as well and my campus is pretty flat so easy to get around in a power chair. Let me know if you have any questions for me. 
    Accept what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be. -SONIA RICOTTI
  • BrookeUBrookeU Posts: 176Moderator Moderator
    Congrats on grad school, @Zcollie! If I think of any questions I'll let you know!
  • Monica.TMonica.T Posts: 105Member ✭✭
    25 Likes 10 Comments 5 Awesomes Photogenic